God of War II: First Day

No no, I’m not going to do a day-to-day documentation of my progress and thoughts on the new, epic and amazing God of War II…BUT…due to the amount of people who called, IMed and emailed me about this game today, I thought I owed it to you all to share my initial thoughts.

Well…there is no doubt that Kratos is back with a vengence…and I mean literally.  The Spartan barbarian is back in action and this time has seemed to have shed his “turning over a new leaf” theme.  That is, he sought to do good in the last title to make up for his “sins,” but in this game seems intent on challenging all authority (Zues and other gods of Olympus) and killing anything that stands in his path.

As far as gameplay…brilliant.  It appears that SCEA took everything that was annoying/frustrating about the original and corrected it.  Moreover, it looks beautiful and runs smoother than water.   They’ve also added elements (already trapsing across blizzard covered cliffs), more mythological characters (so far I’ve met Collosus and Prometheus) and new weapons (the “Blade of Olympus” can be nasty).  I’ve also flown, had mid-air battles and been sent to hell and back…and I’ve only been playing for about 2-3 hours.

As my friend Jeff said, “it’s so much fun to wait so long for a game to come out and actually be good.”  Yes Jeff…this game is beyond fun…and looks to be chock full of new challenges:

New characters:

And new environments:

So that’s really all I can give you tonight.  I had a long afternoon of geeking out and I am exhausted…plus I’ve got quite a week at work, so that’s adding weight to my 20lb. eyelids as well.  The game is awesome and I’m loving every minute of it…but it’s enough to bring a man, or god, to his knees.

Fare thee well…

~ by eastcoastboy on March 14, 2007.

Leave a comment