Wii Play (with your money)? Shame on you!

Nintendo, nintendo, nintendo. Tsk tsk! So the Nintendo Wii was quick out of the gates in the next gen race (at least when compared to the PS3) and that was a surprise to many…myself included. I was happy for them tough, Nintendo’s been the bronze medalist for years now and I was pleased to see them catching a break after coming up with a fun, new idea.

One of my close friends asked me, “I wonder if they’ll be able to keep releasing quality games?”

My response was simple and abrupt, “Of course they will. What kind of gaming company releases a major next gen without properly planning their software support? They won’t drop the ball here.”

I’m not here today to tell you they did…but they did pull a pretty sketch move. Nintendo released a game called Wii Play (but I’ll get to that in a moment). This title was supposed to be an extension (of sorts) of the game that came with the system, Wii Sports. Wii Sports was an instant classic and a great 1v1 game…especially after a few pints at the bar. It includes boxing, golf, bowling, tennis, and baseball. Baseball is the worst of the games and even that’s not all that bad. Bowling and tennis are phenemonal…such fun!

So why not take advantage of the response this game was receiving among Wii fans. Nintendo then released Wii Play…a crappy title basically being sold to increase the sale of Wiimotes (game controllers). Okay, the game features a pathetic version of table tennis, a boring updated version of Duck Hunt and a few other beyond crap games.So what is the real hook? Wii Play comes with a Wiimote. When I heard that, I was skeptical, but after a few discussions with people who’d played it…I thought it was a safe bet.

WRONG! Wii Play is horrendous! Do not purchase this game. Better yet, if you’re in the market for a new Wiimote, buy Wii Play and immediately return the game to EB Games or Gamestop. In “mint” condition, you’ll receive $12 back, which is a slight benefit from buying the Wiimote on its own. Put the $12 towards something else and tell Nintendo thanks for the patronization.

Nintendo…get it together…let’s get some quality titles back out there so I don’t end up feasting on a massive crow pie. Fare thee well…

~ by eastcoastboy on April 18, 2007.

3 Responses to “Wii Play (with your money)? Shame on you!”

  1. Even in Amsterdam, Sean keeps me mildly interested in video games. Amazing. Your writing voice is coming along nicely as well. Keep up the good work my friend.

  2. Wii play is Great if you ask me..
    Got it since the release of the Wii and still playing it from time to time.. too bad tough that the tank game is only 20 Levels in multiplayer.

  3. […] Exit East Coast […]

Leave a Reply

 
